• On Sep 5, 2019
    Verusha from Western Cape, South Africa Asked Note: This answer was provided prior to the change to planDisney and may still contain references to Disney Parks Moms Panel.

    Experiences, policies, pricing and other offerings are subject to change and may have changed since the date of this answer.

    we are pure veg - no meat, no egg, no fish but also no mushroom and onion.. we eat cheese but as long as it does not have animal rennet. the last visit to WDW we were told that most cheese had animal rennet. is this still the case?

    Welcome back to the Disney Parks Moms Panel, Verusha!

    While you are more likely to find animal rennet in American cheeses than European ones, that product will most typically be found in “hard” cheeses such as Parmesan and Romano. You might need to ask to see a list of ingredients to find out if either of these cheeses might be in products like pizza crust or breadsticks. 

    One great option for you at Walt Disney World Resort, though, will be the various vegan cheeses that accompany the vegan and vegetarian dishes you’ll find in many of the restaurants such as Blaze Fast-Fire'd Pizza at Disney Springs, the Ale & Compass Restaurant at Disney’s Yacht Club Resort, Via Napoli Ristorante e Pizzeria at Epcot, PizzeRizzo, Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano or Woody’s Lunch Box at Disney’s Hollywood Studios, Lottawatta Lodge at Disney’s Blizzard Beach Water Park, Leaning Palms at Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon Water Park, California Grill at Disney’s Contemporary Resort and Pinocchio Village Haus at Magic Kingdom Park as well as Gasparilla Island Grill at Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort & Spa. In many of these locations, you will either need to ask to see the vegan menu or ask to speak with a coordinator to find out about the vegan options since they might not be advertised on the main menu.

    Hopefully these options will provide you and your family with some animal-free cheesy goodness, Verusha! Whether it's served with pizza, pasta, grilled cheese, or even atop vegan or vegetarian "burgers" and sandwiches, you'll find a lot of options available for dairy-free/ rennet-free cheeses throughout Walt Disney World Resort Theme Parks, Water Parks and hotels

    Please let us know if there are any other questions we can answer to help you prepare for your upcoming Walt Disney World Resort vacation.

thumbnail image for Amy

Meet the Panelist: Amy, South Carolina

Hiya, pals! I'm Amy from South Carolina. I'm married to my Disney-loving best friend, and together we've raised two princes and a princess. Whether I'm teaching my high school journalism students, planning Disney Bounding outfits with my daughter, or researching which new adventures we'll encounter on our next Walt Disney World Resort vacation, I find a way to incorporate a little Disney magic into everything I do. I look forward to helping you discover the magic, too!  Learn More About Amy

Didn't find what you were looking for? Click the Ask a Question button to open the Ask a Question dialogue box. If you are not logged in a dialogue box will appear to signin in order to ask a question.

To submit your question, please sign in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.

Or you can continue browsing without updating.