Dad and Daughter at EPCOT with Mickey Ice Cream; Princess Aurora hat and jacket; Minnie Mouse shirt
  • On Apr 22, 2024
    Kimberley from IL Asked Please note that experiences, policies, pricing and other offerings are subject to change and may have changed since the date of this answer.

    I have an autoimmune disease that strictly forbids gluten (cross contamination) and I have a corn allergy. I was wondering if you know what they use for the GF churros in Nomad Lounge or the fried chicken in Skipper Canteen. Are they corn based?

    Hi Kimberley,

    We also have a gluten allergy in our family and have spent a lot of time enjoying all of the food options at Disney World! My favorite thing about traveling to Disney World is honestly that I don't have to worry about food. They are fabulous at every single restaurant by catering to your needs and ensuring that there is no cross-contamination. Most restaurants at Disney World can accommodate all of the most common allergy requests including gluten-free. Unfortunately, corn-free diets are a little less common, so it is not listed on all of their menus automatically. I highly recommend contacting Special.Diets@DisneyWorld.com ahead of time if you would like to confirm restaurants that can accommodate a corn allergy. 

    The gluten-free churros at Nomad Lounge are one of my favorite things to eat at Disney World. Sweet treats are hard when dining gluten-free like us and this one stands out. I did quite a bit of research and I believe that these are made from a gluten-free flour blend. I could not get confirmation that it did not contain corn. I would make sure to check with the staff when you check in and they will have the chef go through the blend they are currently using and ensure that it does not contain any corn before you order. They will also be able to give you a list of items that you could order or could be modified. 

    Jungle Navigation Co. LTD Skipper Canteen is my favorite restaurant at Magic Kingdom because almost the entire menu is naturally gluten-free. The "Tastes like Chicken" Because it is! is gluten-free but they use cornstarch in the batter so it will not be corn-free. Don't worry though because there are so many delicious items on this menu. The Mess Hall Fried Rice and Jungle Green Salad are my go-to combo and do not have any corn a the dish. I would still confirm there will not be any cross-contamination.

    Happy Planning,
    Jenna
thumbnail image for Jenna

Meet the Panelist: Jenna, Tennessee

Hi! I am Jenna. I am an entrepreneur, high school teacher, and mother to 2 teenagers so there is not a single question you could ask me that I would find weird. I love traveling, dancing, reading, and anything that could be considered bougie. Walt Disney World Resort is my second home, and I can't wait to share it with you.  Learn More About Jenna

Related Video

  • thumbnail image for Everything You Need To Know About Dining Plans | planDisney Podcast – Season 3 Episode 1

Didn't find what you were looking for? Click the Ask a Question button to open the Ask a Question dialogue box. If you are not logged in a dialogue box will appear to signin in order to ask a question.

To submit your question, please log in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.
x

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.


Or you can continue browsing without updating.