Mom And Daughter; Animal Kingdom
  • On Jul 10, 2011
    Cynthia from IN Asked Note: This answer was provided prior to the change to planDisney and may still contain references to Disney Parks Moms Panel.

    Experiences, policies, pricing and other offerings are subject to change and may have changed since the date of this answer.

    I have a 9 and 11 year old. We are planning our first trip the week of Oct. 22nd. We will be driving (about 16 hours away), and plan on 4 day tickets with the park hopper and water parks. How do you suggest we get the most of our visit?

    Hey Cynthia,

    Okay, the 4 day park hopper is do-able but it will take some real diligence and a little research on your part. Here is how to tackle your 4 days. First of all, find out which parks have Extra Magic Hours.  (Extended  Park hours for guests staying on the resort.)  Disney's Animal Kingdom usually has EMH in the morning, and the other parks in the evening. So, one day split your day between two parks-doing the one with EMH in the morning, and one with EMH in the evening. If you can make those two parks Animal Kingdom and Epcot, respectively, you should be able to get around both and see Illuminations (fireworks show at Epcot). This will be a really long day.  Decide to spend one day at Magic Kingdom and one day at Hollywood Studios and one day at one of the Waterparks. The Waterparks close about 6 or so each day, so that leaves the evening to shop, and visit Downtown Disney for souvenirs etc. If you are making dining reservations try to keep the restaurants close to the parks to minimize travel time. For example, on the day you visit Magic Kingdom, have breakfast at Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary Resort which is right at the Magic Kingdom, in fact, it is on the monorail line. When you visit Animal Kingdom for EMH have breakfast at Boma at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. I hope this all makes sense. Its just a guide..If you don't get everything in, don't worry there will be a great bounce back offer in your hotel room to book your next vacation!
thumbnail image for Portia

Meet the Panelist: Portia, Ohio

I am a former air traffic controller turned stay at home mom and entrepreneur from Northeast Ohio. I have 7 children that range in ages from five to nineteen years of age. I enjoy roller skating in the summer months and snow skiing in the winter.  Learn More About Portia

Didn't find what you were looking for? Click the Ask a Question button to open the Ask a Question dialogue box. If you are not logged in a dialogue box will appear to signin in order to ask a question.

To submit your question, please log in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.

Or you can continue browsing without updating.