Mom And Son Giraffe
  • On May 28, 2012
    Katherine from MD Asked Note: This answer was provided prior to the change to planDisney and may still contain references to Disney Parks Moms Panel.

    Our 10 year old daughter has Type 1 diabetes, a muscle disease and a Mitochondrial disease effecting energy. She has a Service Dog Keeper and uses a wheelchair for long distances. What tips can you give us to manipulate her many needs?

    Hi, Katherine!  You'll find there are two best friends in your future when it comes to your Walt Disney World vacation.  The first is the Guest Assistance Card.  This card will enable cast members to assist your daughter so that her vacation remains magical and stress free!  They may be able to offer her entrance through a Fast Pass line or give her a cool, shady place to wait for an attraction to begin.  The Guest Assistance Card can suggest ways for cast members to best accommodate your daughter, based on her specific needs.

    Your second best friend as you prepare for this trip is your daughter's physician.  He can give you suggestions on things to look for and how to handle them.  I know many diabetics, myself included, have all sorts of odd things happen with our blood sugar levels.  You may need to make adjustments there.  As far as her other conditions, you might want to find out the best snacks and drinks to keep on hand to help with her sugars, or even with her energy level.

    As with anyone, staying well hydrated is crucial.  Keep water handy at all times throughout your vacation.

    You say she only uses a wheelchair for long distances, but I'm going to recommend that you use it while at the theme parks.  It may seem like you are taking a lot of breaks, resting while on attractions, but there is still a considerable amount of walking while at Walt Disney World.  You don't want her to wear herself out before she gets to enjoy herself!

    I hope your princess has an absolutely magical experience!
thumbnail image for Anna

Meet the Panelist: Anna, New Jersey

My name is Anna and I am a wife, mother to three daughters and a son-in-law, and earning my Grandmom ears. I'm a law student and former teacher. I have planned vacations for all sorts celebrations, but really enjoy DVC vacations, helping military families, and assisting those with special dietary needs.    Learn More About Anna

Didn't find what you were looking for?

To submit your question, please sign in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.

Or you can continue browsing without updating.