Mom And Son On Run
  • On May 29, 2009
    Marc from GA Asked Note: This answer was provided prior to the change to planDisney and may still contain references to Disney Parks Moms Panel.

    What do you recommend for 1 day, first time visit (not much $$) to the Magic Kingdom with 2 little girls (6 & 4)? We can only afford to visit 1 day so we would like to do as much as possible. Recommendations for food, rides, rest, all in the park. TY

    Hi, Marc!  My initial advice is going to be to try to resist the temptation to see and do everything.  Come up with a short list of must do things, and then everything else that you have time to do is going to be pure bonus pixie dust! 

    For my daughters, must do attractions at this age include Winnie the Pooh, Buzz Lightyear (I think that might be more of a must do for Daddy, but the girls love it just as much), It's A Small World, and the Tea Cups.  I would Fast Pass Buzz Lightyear first thing in the morning, then head over to Fantasyland.   You can actually knock out a few things in the area while you wait for your Buzz Lightyear Fast Pass time, so take advantage of the other rides in the area.  Once you are in your window for Buzz Lightyear, go and get a Fast Pass for another ride.  You can grab one for Peter Pan's Flight or PhilHarMagic before you leave Fantasyland.

    Food is going to be something you want to consider.  You can spend a good chunk on a character meal at Crystal Palace, which will allow the kids to sit, relax, rest, eat and not have to wait in line to meet the characters, or you can eat less expensively at a counter service location and use the time to ride something else or see a show.  Decide which is more important.  A big meal here at lunch time can be supplemented with brought from home breakfast bars, and snacks like granola bars, raisins, fruit, etc.

    Good places for the kids to get a quick rest in air conditioning include shows like PhilHarMagic and the Country Bears Jamboree. 

    Have a wonderful day at the Magic Kingdom!
thumbnail image for Anna

Meet the Panelist: Anna, New Jersey

My name is Anna and I am a wife, mother to three daughters and a son-in-law, and earning my Grandmom ears. I'm a law student and former teacher. I have planned vacations for all sorts celebrations, but really enjoy DVC vacations, helping military families, and assisting those with special dietary needs.    Learn More About Anna

Didn't find what you were looking for?

To submit your question, please sign in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.

Or you can continue browsing without updating.