Hi Katie! Welcome to planDisney.
You're so right that many desserts at the Walt Disney World Resort involve mousse or mirror glaze! One of my very favorite desserts is the Blueberry Cream Cheese Mousse with passion fruit curd at Satu'li Canteen in Pandora - The World of Avatar, and I checked to see if it appears on the plant-based menu (it doesn't). While these desserts may be pretty (and pretty tasty to those of us who can enjoy them), it's important that you find delicious options that work with your dietary needs. It's my pleasure to help you today!
I checked in with a Cast Member, who told me that most mousses are not considered vegetarian at Walt Disney World Resort, because they often contain eggs and, in some cases, gelatin. I recommend reaching out to the wonderful
Special Diets Cast Members to find out exactly which mousses and desserts are safe for you to eat. You may email them at Special.Diets@DisneyWorld.com with your questions; please allow at least 14 days for a response and provide your arrival date so they can best assist. Because at Disney, "Plant-Based" means an item does not contain animal meat, dairy, eggs, or honey, you may want to be more specific about the ingredients you'd like to avoid or your specific needs.
While I'm not currently a vegetarian, I do enjoy eating meatless meals and have found some scrumptious vegetarian and vegan options around the theme parks and resorts. Disney's
Guide to Plant-Based Dining is a good start for planning your dining. You can look for the leaf icon on menus - this is especially helpful at food booths during festivals in EPCOT - and you may always ask to speak with a Cast Member to best determine which offerings are safe for you. The
Disney Parks Blog's Foodie Guides will also note when items are Plant-Based. I love to read these as I prepare for my visits so I can keep a list of all the things I HAVE to taste!
From home, you can take a look at menus from the My Disney Experience mobile app. Use the search feature to look for any restaurant and tap the option for "Order Food." Tap through the steps as if you were creating a
Mobile Order, which will pull up the current menu. You may then filter for "Plant-Based."
Some of my very favorite vegetarian options at Walt Disney World Resort include the classic DOLE Whip (note that swirled options may contain dairy) and Disney popcorn. On my last visit, I ate at Three Bridges Bar & Grill at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort and had the plant-based
Poke Bowl, which I am still dreaming about (the sauce was incredible!). I also love the vegan
Totchos from Woody's Lunch Box in Toy Story Land. There are so many delicious options!
Thank you for stopping by planDisney, Katie. I hope this helps you eat safely and deliciously during your visit to Walt Disney World Resort. Please come back and see us if you think of any further questions.
Wishing you a magical vacation,
Robyn