Mom And Daughter; Magic Kingdom; Cinderella's Castle; AA; Mickey Balloon
  • On Aug 22, 2011
    Sharrie from TX Asked Note: This answer was provided prior to the change to planDisney and may still contain references to Disney Parks Moms Panel.

    Experiences, policies, pricing and other offerings are subject to change and may have changed since the date of this answer.

    Hi I'm a mom of Jessica age 6. Our 1st trip is 9-6-11 thru 9-13-11 Orlando. My concern is my limited mobility due to knee pain. I'm unsure how to make it all 6 days. I can walk around for about 3 hours max per day. Dad is coming along too.thx!

    Hi Sharrie,

    I am sorry you are going through knee pain.  You have a couple of options to help get you through your days.  You can do your day in shifts.  Do what you can in terms of walking and then head back to the resort and rest for a couple of hours in the afternoon.  Dad and Jessica can spend the afternoon together at the  park or you can all head to your resort for a pool/swim break in the afternoon.  Then you all can head back to the parks for the evening.  Another option would be to rent a wheel chair so that you can rest your leg/knee once the pain sets in. That way you will still be able to spend the day at the parks.  You can always do a combination of the two options.  

    You don't want to make your knee pain worse.  Take breaks when you need them.  Jess & Dad can have time together when your knee gets sore.  If you take anything for pain relief (anti-inflammatory) make sure you bring it with you.  Make sure you drink enough water to stay hydrated as well. Ice your knee as well to help if it swells up.

    Pace yourself!  You don't need to do it all in one day.  You can do half days at the parks and spend the afternoon at the pool or vice versa--you have 6 days so you will be able to do a lot!

    You will have a fantastic time!  Take your time, enjoy every moment!

    If you have any other questions, please let us know!
    Thank you for your question.  Wishing you a magical vacation!!


thumbnail image for Carrie

Meet the Panelist: Carrie, Ontario

I am from Georgetown, ON Canada. I own/operate a health and fitness company, and have 3 children. I love being able to help people plan their vacations and share my experiences with them ... including how to stay fit and healthy while on vacation! Learn More About Carrie

Didn't find what you were looking for? Click the Ask a Question button to open the Ask a Question dialogue box. If you are not logged in a dialogue box will appear to signin in order to ask a question.

To submit your question, please log in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.

Or you can continue browsing without updating.