Girl at Disneyworld
  • On May 1, 2024
    Heather from FL Asked Please note that experiences, policies, pricing and other offerings are subject to change and may have changed since the date of this answer.

    My family has purchased their tickets and we have a reservation to go to Magic Kingdom. We now want to bring a friend. We want to add her to our group so we can do virtual cue or lighting lane together. Do I need to buy the ticket or can they buy their own

    Magic awaits, Heather! Thanks for coming to planDisney today with your question as you make plans to visit my favorite of the Walt Disney World Resort's theme parks, Magic Kingdom Park! From its countless attractions for guests of all ages, daytime parade and stage show offerings, all the way to the amazing Happily Ever After fireworks show to close out the day, you're in for a most magical experience!

    Guests planning together should ensure they are connected as Family and Friends in the My Disney Experience mobile app, and each guest should ensure that their valid theme park ticket and park reservation (if required) is linked to his or her individual My Disney Experience account to be able to link as a travel party on the day of your visit. If your friend manages their own My Disney Experience account, they can purchase their own ticket and link it directly to their account. If the account is managed by you, you will want to purchase the ticket on their behalf and link it to their managed account.

    To add your friend's account to your Family and Friends list on the app, click the three horizontal lines on the bottom right-hand side and scroll down to "My Profile". Once you are on your profile, click "Family & Friends" at the top and the "Add a Guest" where you can enter your friend's information. Your friend will receive a notification to accept the invitation, and you will be set!

    Once you are linked, on the day of your visit, anyone on your list who has valid theme park admission for the day can be selected as part of your party when you make your selections to join a Virtual Queue, purchase Disney Genie+ Service, or purchase a la carte Individual Lightning Lane selections. Keep in mind the travel party limit for a Virtual Queue is set to 10 guests and for Genie+ the limit is set to 12 guests, so if your party is larger, you may want to split into two smaller groups and have one guest in charge of making selections for each of the groups. Additionally, your photos captured by the park's PhotoPass photographers will also link together and appear in each of your photo galleries on the app and online at the official Walt Disney World website for viewing and downloading, if you choose!

    I hope this is helpful, Heather, and I hope your family and your friend enjoy making magical memories, celebrating fantasy, adventure, new frontiers, and the promises of tomorrow at Magic Kingdom!

    See you real soon,
    Alison
thumbnail image for Alison

Meet the Panelist: Alison, Louisiana

I'm Alison - a wife, mom, and teacher from New Orleans, LA. My first childhood visit to the Walt Disney World Resort sparked a lifelong love of this magical place, and I still find magic in both the new and nostalgic on each visit! I understand the changing dynamics of planning a practically perfect vacation; no matter how large your group is or what your interests are, I look forward to helping you create magical memories and discover unique experiences to make them even more enchanting! Learn More About Alison

Related Video

  • thumbnail image for Disney Thrills | planDisney Podcast - Season 2 Episode 5

Didn't find what you were looking for? Click the Ask a Question button to open the Ask a Question dialogue box. If you are not logged in a dialogue box will appear to signin in order to ask a question.

To submit your question, please log in now if you have not already done so.

Ask a QuestionOpens the Ask a Question dialog box.
x

Update Browser

For a better experience browsing this website, please download an updated version of Internet Explorer.


Or you can continue browsing without updating.